Africa: Remarks by U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton at The President`s Forum with Young African Leaders

source: allAfrica
United States Department of State (Washington)
3 August 2010
document

The following is full text of U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton’s remarks at the President’s Forum with Young African Leaders in Washington, DC.

Thank you all so much. I am thrilled to see you. I had to come back to work to recover from my daughter’s wedding. (Laughter.) And one of the reasons I came back was because I wanted the chance to welcome each and every one of you here to the State Department, and to tell you how excited we are to be hosting this Young Leaders Forum.

Now, I know that later this afternoon, you will have the unique opportunity to go to the White House and to meet with President Obama. And I think from what you heard already today and the comments of my friend and extraordinary Assistant Secretary for Africa, Johnnie Carson, this Administration, from the top, is very committed to, concerned about Africa, and especially about Africa’s future, because we know that it is people like all of you and [continue reading]

