South Africa: Eskom warns municipalities of power cuts

source: IOL
July 07 2010 at 09:38AM

Eskom has warned 11 Free State municipalities, representing more than 50 towns, that it would disconnect their power supply if they did not pay their electricity bills by July 20.

On Wednesday, Democratic Alliance deputy shadow minister for energy David Ross said the Free State government should intervene in the matter to prevent an energy crisis in the province.

The municipalities which would be affected by the notices were Mangaung (Bloemfontein), Matjhabeng (Welkom), Moqhaka (Kroonstad), Ngwathe (Parys), Dihlabeng (Bethlehem), Naledi, Kopanong, Mohokare, Mafube, Masilonyana and Nala.

The DA had officially requested the Free State MEC for co-operative governance Mosebenzi Zwane and [continue reading]


%d bloggers like this: